Franchise improvement suggestions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Franchise improvement suggestions

I've been playing The Show for several years. My favorite thing about baseball (video games and real life) is the whole GM experience and strategies. What I would absolutely love to be able to do in The Show is be able to manage a team the way I want without having to play every single game. I just finished reading Brian Kenny's book, "Ahead of the Curve" and it would be so cool if I had a way in The Show to manage my pitching staff using the "bullpenning" technique. For anyone who doesn't know, bullpenning is a revolutionary way to manage your pitching staff. It calls for starting a "relief pitcher" and letting him throw an inning or two (in the NL, until he's due up to bat and then pinch hitting for him) and then switching to a "starter" type to pitch the middle 4 or so innings, before going to more "relievers" as needed. I did this in The Show doing a fantasy draft and playing every game for about a month before I finally decided I would never get through a season. It just takes too long to play every game. I think this could be utilized in a video game if there were some strategy options and maybe telling the computer that when I simulate, I want each pitcher on my team to get about X% of innings pitched over the full season, and the innings I want that guy coming into the game. With that knowledge it can then use my pitching staff the way I want it to be used, without me actually having to play or manage every game. I'd also like similar options for my position players. You have your main lineup, but then maybe a depth chart position wise AND lineup wise and then it can determine who to play where and bat where when someone's energy is too low and the computer wants to give him a day off. Options for late inning defensive replacements would be cool too. And possibly (similar to the pitching %) set each player with a PA goal that the compute