Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?

SDS

I tried to google this but couldn't find this exact scenario to get a definitive answer.

SDS

Technically speaking yes, if the ball is hit soft enough and has a bit of topspin as it slows.

SDS

https://baseball-rules.com/fairfoul.htm

It can go foul to fair. It depends on where a fielder touches it or where it comes to rest.

SDS

As long as it is fair before either 1B or 3B

SDS

I had never before seen or heard of anything like this. Thought I was SDS'd there for a moment. Crazy stuff. Thanks guys.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lm9hldcIknQ&ab_channel=meyou

SDS

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FkYAsD0toAA

That's probably the best example of a foul ball going fair, though most aren't like the one in your video or the one in the real life video here, most are just dribbles that topsin brings it fair as it rolls to a stop

SDS

Great clip! Thanks for sharing. I’d be more concerned about the pitcher teleporting to the ball and making the out!

SDS

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

SDS

@Kovz88 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

I was going to say, I had never seen anyone do that, but I am sure it has happened.

SDS

@Red_Ted_is_back said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

Great clip! Thanks for sharing. I’d be more concerned about the pitcher teleporting to the ball and making the out!

Nothing to see here move along

SDS

@jz2016cubs said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@Kovz88 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

I was going to say, I had never seen anyone do that, but I am sure it has happened.

Happens all the time. You can’t smack it from fair to foul, but coaches teach corner guys to pick up the ball in foul so it doesn’t go fair causing a cheap infield single.

For further fun, I once witnessed this scenario: runner on first, one out. Batter hits a pop up halfway down 3rd base line slightly foul. No one caught it and it bounced fair. Umpire called the batter out immediately and little league parents went haywire. Why? Once it became fair the infield fly rule took effect and batter is out. Umpire had it right.....

SDS

@crablutedefoe said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@jz2016cubs said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@Kovz88 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

I was going to say, I had never seen anyone do that, but I am sure it has happened.

Happens all the time. You can’t smack it from fair to foul, but coaches teach corner guys to pick up the ball in foul so it doesn’t go fair causing a cheap infield single.

For further fun, I once witnessed this scenario: runner on first, one out. Batter hits a pop up halfway down 3rd base line slightly foul. No one caught it and it bounced fair. Umpire called the batter out immediately and little league parents went haywire. Why? Once it became fair the infield fly rule took effect and batter is out. Umpire had it right.....

Really? You said it "bounced fair" meaning it landed in foul territory and then went fair. I don't believe the infield fly rule applies once the ball hits the ground?

SDS

@abbyspapa said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@crablutedefoe said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@jz2016cubs said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@Kovz88 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

I was going to say, I had never seen anyone do that, but I am sure it has happened.

Happens all the time. You can’t smack it from fair to foul, but coaches teach corner guys to pick up the ball in foul so it doesn’t go fair causing a cheap infield single.

For further fun, I once witnessed this scenario: runner on first, one out. Batter hits a pop up halfway down 3rd base line slightly foul. No one caught it and it bounced fair. Umpire called the batter out immediately and little league parents went haywire. Why? Once it became fair the infield fly rule took effect and batter is out. Umpire had it right.....

Really? You said it "bounced fair" meaning it landed in foul territory and then went fair. I don't believe the infield fly rule applies once the ball hits the ground?

He’s right. The proper way to interpret it is “Infield fly rule IF in play”

SDS

@Hikes83 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@abbyspapa said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@crablutedefoe said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@jz2016cubs said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

@Kovz88 said in Can a ground ball start foul and then roll fair?:

This is why fielders smack the ball foul. So it doesn't roll fair before they grab it and end up as a hit. Rare but not unheard of

I was going to say, I had never seen anyone do that, but I am sure it has happened.

Happens all the time. You can’t smack it from fair to foul, but coaches teach corner guys to pick up the ball in foul so it doesn’t go fair causing a cheap infield single.

For further fun, I once witnessed this scenario: runner on first, one out. Batter hits a pop up halfway down 3rd base line slightly foul. No one caught it and it bounced fair. Umpire called the batter out immediately and little league parents went haywire. Why? Once it became fair the infield fly rule took effect and batter is out. Umpire had it right.....

Really? You said it "bounced fair" meaning it landed in foul territory and then went fair. I don't believe the infield fly rule applies once the ball hits the ground?

He’s right. The proper way to interpret it is “Infield fly rule IF in play”

And IF an IF is called by the blue. If the blue don’t call it, it ain’t an IF.

SDS

There is a video of a catcher chasing a ball that started foul, he waiting till it rolled fair then picked up the ball and tagged the batter out who was still standing outside the batters box waiting for everyone to reset for the next pitch. i think it was one of those "HIGH BASEBALL IQ" video compilations. ill post the video if i find

Log in to reply